Posted: Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Riverside High Speech and Debate TeamCongratulations to Riverside High School for winning both the AAAAA championship and the overall sweepstakes award at the South Carolina Speech and Debate Coaches’ Association State Tournament held at Riverside High School on March 2nd.  With this win, Riverside has earned its eighth consecutive state title. The state tournament makes the culmination of a season of victories: the Warriors went undefeated in North and South Carolina this year. In addition to winning the overall prize, Riverside students won several individual champions in both speech and debate divisions. 

In speech, the champions are senior Ian Chiu in Informative Speaking, junior Shalyn Drakeford in Children’s Literature, senior Phillip Martin in Program Oral Interpretation, sophomore Miriam Meyer in Declamation, senior Stephan Voelk in Impromptu Speaking, and senior Rohit Yarlagadda in Expository Speaking.  Freshmen William Lovin and Israel Paramo were named novice champions in Duo Interpretation. Freshman Nihal Kaura was named novice champion in Extemporaneous Speaking. Sophomore Laurel Holley serves as student director for speech. 

In debate, the champions are the team of junior Janine D’Souza and senior Matthew Yoon in Public Forum Debate, sophomore Cameron Tsai in Novice Lincoln Douglas Debate, and senior Parth Vashi in Congressional Debate. Vashi was also named Congress’s Best Presiding Officer. Sophomores Grace Holland and Kritika Sethi were named Novice Champions in Public Forum Debate. Junior Ivana Ramirez serves as student director for debate. 

Team captains for the Riverside Team are seniors Ian Chiu and Talia Samard.

A complete list of Riverside award winners follows:
















Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories