Posted: Monday, January 2, 2017

Seated, l to r:: Joy Grayson, Lisa Wells, Lynda Leventis-Wells, Glenda Morrison-Fair.<br>Standing l to r:  Roger Meek, Debi Bush, Dr. Crystal Ball O'Connor, Danna Rohleder, Derek Lewis, Michelle Goodwin-Calwile, Pat Sudduth, Chuck Saylors.Greenville County Schools salutes our 12 school board members during South Carolina School Board Recognition Month each January. This year’s theme, “Stand Up for Public Schools,” recognizes school board members as leaders, advocates, and public servants to the students and staff of Greenville County Schools.

As the elected/appointed representatives of the people in their local communities, they represent their local communities’ voice and vision for public schools.

GCS Board members hold leadership positions both within and outside the district. They develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the entire community. The School Board oversees the governance of a school district that serves more than 76,000 students and employs about 10,000.

School Board Recognition Month is an annual event sponsored by Greenville County Schools and the South Carolina School Boards Association. More than 600 locally elected and appointed school board members throughout the state will be recognized for their service and dedication to public education.

2017 Greenville County Schools’ Board of Trustees

  • Dr. Crystal Ball O’Connor, Area 27 – Chairman
  • Debi C. Bush, Area 19 – Vice Chairman
  • Lynda Leventis-Wells, Area 22 - Secretary
  • Michelle Goodwin-Calwile, Area 25
  • Joy Grayson, Area 17
  • Derek Lewis, Area 24
  • Roger D. Meek, Area 26
  • Glenda Morrison-Fair, Area 23
  • Danna Rohleder, Area 21
  • Charles J. (Chuck) Saylors, Area 20
  • Patrick L. Sudduth, Area 18
  • Lisa H. Wells, Area 28

Share this article on Facebook Share this article on Twitter Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories