Posted: Thursday, April 18, 2024

Forty deserving high school seniors were recognized at the 27th annual Scholarship Golf Tournament Luncheon in Greenville. Each senior received a $1,500 scholarship from the Greenville County Schools Foundation, which hosted its annual golf tournament in the Fall of 2023. 

The Greenville County Schools Foundation is a nonprofit organization established to support The School District of Greenville County. The Foundation’s primary mission is to support our students by providing educational scholarships, to encourage students to join the teaching profession and to support our teaching and non-teaching staff by providing funding for advanced degrees, additional certifications, and professional development.

“It is my honor to recognize your achievements and celebrate with you alongside your families, principals and school counselors,” said Greenville County Schools Superintendent Dr. Burke Royster. “It is inspiring to interact with our students every day as you represent the future communities in which we will live and thrive. Congratulations to each of you and your families.”

President of the GCS Foundation and former GCS Superintendent, Dr. Phinnize J. Fisher said, “Congratulations 2024 Seniors, today is a very happy day as we honor your success. The Greenville County Schools Foundation was founded to give back to the community and to support Greenville County Schools. We take great pride in providing these scholarships to GCS students and look forward to celebrating all of your future accomplishments.”

More than $700,000 has been raised for scholarships since the first tournament was held in 1997. In addition to their scholarships, students received a personalized gift from Herff Jones of SC.

“Congratulations to the 2024 senior students selected for this award,” shared Elizabeth House, GCS Director of School Counseling Services. “These hardworking, talented students display a strong sense of character and natural leadership and represent each of their school communities well.”

All contributions to the Foundation are for the benefit of students and are tax-deductible. The Board of Directors consists of business, community and school district leaders who recognize the vital importance of excellent public schools to the success and quality of life of the greater Greenville County community.

2024 Golf Scholarship Recipients

Scholarship Recipients, Their College Choice and Intended Major

Emma Miguel Miguel | Berea High School | Clemson University, Computer Science
Crystal Reyes-Lopez | Berea High School | University Of South Carolina, Biology
Nicklaus Poole | Blue Ridge High School | Lander University, Elementary Education
Claire Tate | Blue Ridge High School | North Greenville University, Pre Law
Brianna Castillo Miraselva | Carolina High Academy | Clemson University, Architecture
Ashley Garcia | Carolina High Academy | Clemson University, Business Management
Cortland McGowan | Eastside High School | Undecided, Interior Design
Audrey Seehorn | Eastside High School | East Tennessee State University, Digital Media
William Watson | Eastside High School | The Citadel, Intelligence & Security Studies
Madison Montgomery | Greenville High Academy | Clemson University, Nursing
Liza Parker | Greenville High Academy | University of Georgia, Fashion Merchandising & Design
Lailah Wideman | Greenville High Academy | Howard University, Political Science
Joanna Cruz | Greer High School | University of South Carolina-Upstate, Nursing
Ethan Howard | Greer High School | Liberty University, Psychology/Counseling
Mary Jackson | Greer High School | South Carolina State University, Mechanical Engineering
Mary Catherine Ashworth | Hillcrest High School | University of South Carolina, Special Education
McKenzie Quaal | Hillcrest High School | University of South Carolina, Exercise Science
Abigail Ruskin | Hillcrest High School | Clemson University , Architecture
Landon Thackston | Hillcrest High School | Clemson University, Animal and Veterinary Science
Braden Freeman | J.L. Mann High Academy | Undecided, Economics & Political Science

Annalise Langston | J.L. Mann High Academy | Indiana University, Human Biology
Jayla Young | J.L. Mann High Academy | University Of South Carolina, Criminology & Criminal Justice
Lauren Cameron | Mauldin High School | University of South Carolina, Psychology
Riley Dohse | Mauldin High School | University of South Carolina, Neuroscience
Olivia Pellerin | Mauldin High School | Anderson University, Psychology
Christiana Schmidt | Mauldin High School | University of South Carolina, Political Science
Drew Cannon | Riverside High School | Bob Jones University, Kinesiology & Exercise Science
Chloe Lasenbery | Riverside High School | University of South Carolina, Nursing
Wiktor Zukowski | Riverside High School | Clemson University, Computer Engineering
Zamora Pauling | Southside High School | Francis Marion University, Pre-Mechanical Engineering
Elijah Shanks | Southside High School | Winthrop University, Theatre & Business Marketing
Rian Sharp | Travelers Rest High School | Elon University, Biochemistry
Grayson Taylor | Travelers Rest High School | Spartanburg Community College, Horticulture
Tyler Nelson | Wade Hampton High School | Clemson University, Architecture
Nola Robertson | Wade Hampton High School | Elon University, Biomedical Science
Ava Schneider | Wade Hampton High School | Clemson University, Exercise Science
Ashlyn McCain | Woodmont High School | Charleston Southern University, Kinesiology
Naveen Schutrum | Woodmont High School | Clemson University, Biological Sciences
Asheton Skardon | Woodmont High School | Clemson University, Business Marketing or Graphic Design
Anna Tomlinson | Woodmont High School | Clemson University, Communications

Emma Miguel
Crystal Reyes-Lopez
Nicklaus Poole
Claire Tate
Brianna Castillo Miraselva - Not pictured
Ashley Garcia - Not pictured
Cortland McGowan
Audrey Seehorn
William Watson
Madison Montgomery
Liza Parker
Lailah Wideman
Joanna Cruz
Ethan Howard
Mary Jackson
Mary Catherine Ashworth
McKenzie Quaal
Abbie Ruskin
Landon Thackston
Braden Freeman
Annalise Langston
Jayla Young
Lauren Cameron
Riley Dohse
Olivia Pellerin
Christiana Schmidt
Drew Cannon
Chloe Lasenbery
Wiktor Zukowski
Zamora Pauling
Elijah Shanks
Rian Sharp
Grayson Taylor
Tyler Nelson
Nola Robertson
Ava Schneider
Ashlyn McCain
Naveen Schutrum
Asheton Skardon
Anna Tomlinson

Email this page. Print this page.

More Stories