World Languages

Jason Bagley-Cooler
Jason Bagley-Cooler
Teacher
jbagley@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Jason Bagley-Cooler
Amanda Catherman
Amanda Catherman
Spanish Teacher
acatherman@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Amanda Catherman
Carolyn Johnsen
Carolyn Johnsen
ESOL Teacher
cjohnsen@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Carolyn Johnsen
Thomas Spurgeon
Thomas Spurgeon
Latin Teacher
tspurgeon@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Thomas Spurgeon
No Photo
Hilary Stevens
Teacher
hkstevens@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Hilary Stevens
Susan Taylor
Susan Taylor
Spanish Teacher
sltaylor@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Susan Taylor
Scott Thompson
Scott Thompson
Spanish Teacher
sthompson@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Scott Thompson
Terri Zavodnik
Terri Zavodnik
ESOL teacher
tzavodni@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Terri Zavodnik
Lindsay Zika
Lindsay Zika
ESOL teacher
lzika@greenville.k12.sc.us
Visit My Site - Lindsay Zika

World Languages Department Information

Philosophy:

The World Language Department strives to expand student knowledge of diverse cultures and peoples and promote world peace and a greater understanding of others and ourselves through the study of language. By reading, writing, speaking, and listening students become immersed in the language. While integrating technology into the classes the well traveled and enthusiastic teachers make the language learning more authentic and connected to real life situations.

Requirements:

The state of South Carolina requires one unit of a Foreign Language (or Occupational Education) to receive a diploma.  Most colleges and universities require a minimum of two to three years of the same language but recommend more. Commonly, colleges require foreign language classes as part of typical course study, but offer a placement exam where students can exempt out of language study. By continuing foreign language at the high school level, students increases the likelihood of testing out of the foreign language requirement at the college level.

World Language Offerings and Flowchart:

While students get credit for receiving a 60 or above, advancement to the next level is only recommended with a C or better as language learning is a cumulative process. To be placed into the Honors classes at the upper levels, students must have an A or high B in all the previous levels.

WL Offerings and Flowchart