Board of Trustees Menu Board of Trustees 
Board of Trustees

Carolyn Styles, Area 17 Chair

Carolyn Styles

Dr. Carolyn J. Styles was first elected to the Board of Trustees in 2020, but serving the students of our community has been her passion and calling since childhood. She believes that no barrier should separate a child from receiving a quality education that supports productive citizenship in our community and beyond. 

Dr. Styles retired from Greenville County Schools after more than 30 years as a teacher and principal. Under Dr. Styles’ leadership, Skyland Elementary School was named a National Blue Ribbon Showcase School and received the National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award, the highest honor a school and its principal can receive.

Her professional honors include Greenville County School Administrator of the Year (2019), recognition by the SC House of Representatives in House Resolution (HR) 3837 for Outstanding Service as a School Administrator (2019), Greer Chamber of Commerce Educator of the Year (2018), Greenville County Schools Leader to Learn From (2017), Greenville County Schools nominee for SC Distinguished Principal of the Year (2013), and South Carolina Principal Representative to the Richard W. Riley Institute of Government, Politics and Public Leadership.

Dr. Styles holds an Associate of Arts from North Greenville University, a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education from Erskine College, Master of Arts in Elementary Education and Master of Arts in Elementary Administration from Furman University, and a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from South Carolina State University. She was appointed to serve on Governor McMaster's Task Force for Teacher Retention and Recruitment. The mission of the Task Force is to examine and propose necessary revisions for improving teacher recruitment, retention, and advancement—all of which are of significant importance to public education in South Carolina.